The North American TIMES Energy Model (NATEM)

Learning from all previous energy modeling experiences (Projects)ESMIA consultants benefit from having built their own modeling platforms.

The NATEM platform allows multiple analyses of energy issues and strategic decision-making at multiple levels of geographical disaggregation. The platform is built in a flexible manner allowing for 1) extraction of a region from of a wider geographic area facilitating small scale and sector specific analysis and 2) aggregate geographic regions for more comprehensive large-scale analyses. Each model can be used in a soft-linking or hard-link mode with other models.

All ESMIA models have been developed using the most advanced optimization modeling framework: The Integrated MARKAL-EFOM System (TIMES). The MARKAL/TIMES model generators are supported by ETSAP – Energy Technology Systems Analysis Program of the International Energy Agency (IEA) and currently used by more than 80 institutions in nearly 70 countries.

Provincial scale

Map QC2

NATEM-Quebec. Extracted from the NATEM- Canada model, NATEM-Québec was initially designed for prospective life cycle analysis (LCA) of agricultural sectors. With already with 9 categories of demand for agricultural products, 400 transformation processes and 90 commodities, the agricultural sector were completed to incorporate all inputs-outgoing relationships (raw materials, energy flows, solid, gaseous, liquid wastes, co-products) at all stages of the LCA. Each sector can be disaggregated for any sector specific analysis or local energy planning.

Spatial : A single region « Quebec », with data disaggregated by sub-regions 

Temporal : 2011-2050, 9 time periods and 16 annual time slices (4 seasons et 4 intraday periods).

Regional scale

map WEST

NATEM- WEST Canada. Extracted from the NATEM-Canada model, NATEM-WEST Canada was initially created to fill the need for a very comprehensive framework for performing studies on optimal GHG mitigation strategies. Indeed, as a significant energy producer and exporter, the four provinces of the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin (WCSB) face challenges that need to be addressed in a particular manner to the benefit of the whole Canadian economy: meeting growing energy demands and expanding the energy sector while reducing GHG emissions.

Spatial: 4 regions corresponding to the 4 provinces of Western Canada.

Temporal : 2011-2050, 9 time periods and 16 annual time slices (4 seasons et 4 intraday periods).

National scale

map Canada

NATEM-Canada. The recent version of NATEM-Canada is the most advanced optimization and multi-regional model covering in details the large diversity of Canadian energy systems on a long term horizon (up to 2100). Energy balances have all been calibrated to the 2011 base year. All databases are regularly revised and updated using the most recent data sources. Constant development allows advanced features to be implemented and databases to be refined.

With a particularly high level of detail despite the size of the geographical coverage, NATEM-Canada is an important module of the North American modeling platform NATEM. The model is particularly suitable to address any relevant Canadian challenges: renewable energy development in remote areas, penetration of intermittent energies in the grids, energy storage, domestic trade, unconventional oil & gas exploration and production, coal phase-out, electrification of transportation, biofuel regulations, carbon capture and sequestration projects, potential and effects of energy savings, GHG mitigation strategies (carbon markets or taxes), etc.

Spatial: 13 regions corresponding to the 13 Provinces and Territories of Canada 

Temporal : 2011-2050, 9 time periods and 16 annual time slices (4 seasons et 4 intraday periods).

Continental scale

map NATEM

NATEM. The NATEM model represents the heart of the platform. It is a technology rich, multi-regional and integrated energy model that covers in detailed format the energy systems of Canada, United States and Mexico. The model comprises 23 geographical regions having their own reference energy system (RES), but linked together through energy, material and emission permit flows.

In maintaining the same stringent levels of detail as is found in the NATEM-Canada model, NATEM also allows for the capture on endogenous energy trade movements within the North American markets.

Due to their geographical location and common border, Canada and the United States face many opportunities and challenges that justify deeper analysis: producing synthetic oil or exporting bitumen, interconnection projects between Quebec/Atlantic provinces and North East States, pipeline projects between Western Canada and USA, etc.

Spatial: 23 regions, including 13 Canadian regions, 9 American regions, 1 Mexican region

Temporal : 2011-2050, 9 time periods and 16 annual time slices (4 seasons et 4 intraday periods).

Global scale

map GLOBAL

NATEM-Global. NATEM-Global is the North American 23 region model linked to an extra global module accounting for rest of the world energy demand and supply.

Benefiting from abundant energy resources, Canada is one of the largest energy producers and exporters in the world. While energy exports were mainly destined to the USA, energy producers are more and more trying to diversify their markets beyond North America to sell their growing oil production and secure their export revenues. The link with a global module allows analyzing the interactions with other markets.

Spatial: 24 regions, including 13 Canadian regions, 9 American regions, 1 Mexican region and 1 Global region (Rest of the World).

Temporal : 2011-2050, 9 time periods and 16 annual time slices (4 seasons et 4 intraday periods).

The North American TIMES Energy Model (NATEM)

Issue de l’expérience acquise au travers le développement de nombreux modèles énergétiques (Section Projets), les consultants ESMIA ont conçu leur propre plateforme de modélisation.

La plateforme NATEM permet l’analyse des problématiques énergétiques et la prise de décisions stratégiques suivant plusieurs niveaux de désagrégation géographique. La plateforme a été construite de manière à pouvoir facilement 1) extraire une région d’un ensemble géographique plus large afin d’enrichir la base de données et faciliter les analyses sectorielles à petite échelle, et 2) agréger des régions géographiques permettant des analyses plus globales à grande échelle. Chacun des modèles peut être utilisé en interrelation indirecte (soft-link) ou directe (hard-link) au sein d’un ensemble géographique plus large.

Les modèles ESMIA ont tous été développés à partir du générateur de modèles d’optimisation le plus avancé : The Integrated MARKAL-EFOM System (TIMES). Les générateurs de modèles MARKAL/TIMES sont supportés par le programme ETSAP – Energy Technology Systems Analysis Program de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie (AIE) et présentement utilisés dans plus de 80 institutions réparties dans près de 70 pays.

Échelle provinciale

Map QC2

NATEM-Québec. Extrait du modèle NATEM-Canada, NATEM-Québec a initialement été conçu pour les analyses de cycle de vie (ACV) prospectives des secteurs agricoles. La modélisation du secteur agricole comptant déjà 9 catégories de demande pour les produits agricoles, 400 procédés de transformation, 90 commodités, a été complétée de manière à incorporer et quantifier toutes les relations intrants-sortants (matières premières, flux d’énergies, résidus solides, gazeux, liquides, coproduits) et ce, à toutes les étapes de l’ACV. Chaque secteur peut être désagrégé en fonction d’analyses spécifiques.

Spatiale : Une seule région « Québec », avec données désagrégées en sous-régions 

Temporelle : 2011-2050, 9 périodes et 16 tranches annuelles (4 saisons et 4 périodes journalières).

Échelle régionale

map WEST

NATEM- WEST Canada. Extrait du modèle NATEM-Canada, NATEM-WEST Canada a initialement été créé pour bénéficier d’un cadre d’analyse très complet permettant d’analyser et de définir des stratégies optimales de réduction des émissions de GES. En effet, en tant qu’important producteurs et exportateurs d’énergie, les quatre provinces du Bassin sédimentaire de l’ouest canadien (BSOC) font face à des opportunités et des défis qui doivent être abordés d’une manière particulière, et ce, au profit de toute l’économie canadienne: satisfaire la croissance d’énergie croissante, développer les secteurs énergétiques, tout en réduisant les émissions de GES.

Spatiale : 4 régions correspondantes aux 4 provinces de l’ouest canadien.

Temporelle : 2011-2100, 9 périodes et 16 tranches annuelles (4 saisons et 4 périodes journalières).

Échelle nationale

map Canada

NATEM-Canada. La version la plus récente de NATEM-Canada consitue le modèle d’optimisation multirégional le plus avancé couvrant en détail la grande diversité des systèmes énergétiques canadiens sur un horizon à long terme (jusqu’en 2100). Les bilans énergétiques ont tous été calibrés à l’année de référence 2011. Les bases de données sont constamment révisées et mises à jour à partir des sources de données les plus récentes. Des développements constants permettent l’intégration de fonctions avancées et le raffinement des bases de données.

Avec un niveau de détails particulièrement élevé malgré la taille de la couverture géographique, NATEM-Canada constitue un module important de la plateforme de modélisation nord-américaine NATEM. Le modèle est particulièrement adapté pour analyser toutes problématiques énergétiques pertinentes au Canada : développement des énergies renouvelables dans les régions éloignées, pénétration des énergies intermittentes dans les réseaux, stockage d’énergie, exploration et production de pétrole & gaz non conventionnels, fermeture des centrales au charbon, électrification des transports, projets de stockage et séquestration du carbone, potentiels et effets des économies d’énergie, stratégies d’atténuation des GES (marchés du carbone ou taxes), etc.

Spatiale : 13 régions correspondantes aux 13 Provinces et Territoires du Canada 

Temporelle : 2011-2100, 9 périodes et 16 tranches annuelles (4 saisons et 4 périodes journalières).

Échelle continentale

map NATEM

NATEM. Le modèle NATEM représente le cœur de la plate-forme. C’est un modèle techno-économique, multirégional et intégré couvrant en détail les systèmes énergétiques du Canada, des États-Unis et du Mexique. Le modèle comprend 23 régions géographiques ayant leur propre système énergétique de référence (RES), mais liées entre elles par des flux d’énergie, de matériaux et de permis d’émissions.

Tout en conservant le même niveau élevé de détails de NATEM-Canada, NATEM permet en plus de capturer de manière endogène, les échanges d’énergie entre les marchés nord-américains.

De par leur situation géographique et leur frontière commune, le Canada et les États-Unis font donc face à de nombreuses opportunités et problématiques énergétiques pertinentes à analyser : raffinage ou exportation du bitume canadien, inversion ou construction d’oléoducs, construction de nouvelles interconnexions pour l’exportation d’électricité du Québec et des provinces de l’Atlantique vers la Nouvelle-Angleterre, etc.

Spatiale : 23 régions, incluant 13 régions canadiennes, 9 régions américaines et 1 région mexicaine.

Temporelle : 2011-2100, 9 périodes et 16 tranches annuelles (4 saisons et 4 périodes journalières).

Échelle globale

map GLOBAL

NATEM-Global. NATEM-Global est le modèle nord-américain à 23 régions, lié à un module supplémentaire global permettant de capturer l’offre et la demande énergétique du reste du monde.

Bénéficiant de ressources énergétiques abondantes, le Canada est l’un des plus grands producteurs et exportateurs d’énergie dans le monde. Alors que les exportations aient traditionnellement été destinées aux États-Unis, les producteurs d’énergie cherchent maintenant à diversifier leurs marchés au-delà de l’Amérique du Nord pour écouler leur production croissante et sécuriser leurs revenus d’exportation. Le lien avec un module global permet d’analyser les interactions avec d’autres marchés.

Spatiale : 24 régions, incluant 13 régions canadiennes, 9 régions américaines, 1 région mexicaine et 1 région globale (reste du monde).

Temporelle : 2011-2100, 9 périodes et 16 tranches annuelles (4 saisons et 4 périodes journalières).