Examples of ongoing projects

For 15 years, ESMIA consultants have been involved in large-scale projects aimed at developing and applying 3E optimization models, policy analyses and technology assessments for high-profile organisations within Canada as well as in the International arena.

MEXICO. Building capacity for the development of an optimization energy model for Mexico: comprehensive training course and technical support.

Fundación IDEA es una importante organización mexicana de tipo “Think Tank”, cuya misión es desarrollar y promover políticas públicas que sostengan una mayor igualdad de oportunidades a los mexicanos a través el desarrollo económico y social. La Fundación IDEA cuenta con el apoyo de la Embajada del Reino Unido en México para llevar a cabo un estudio sobre de las políticas energética y climática con el apoyo de la Secretaría de energía mexicana. Este proceso incluye el desarrollo de un modelo de optimización TIMES que represente al sistema energético mexicano en detalle y su aplicación para el análisis de escenarios de referencia y de las políticas públicas. El objetivo de este proyecto consiste en apoyar con formación y herramientas técnicas al equipo de Fundación IDEA sobre VEDA-TIMES, Esto, respectivamente, a través del manejo de los módulos básico, intermedio y avanzado y con la colecta de datos, la calibración de escenarios de referencia, modelado de políticas y el análisis de los impactos de las políticas públicas.

Model: TIMES-Mexico

Funding: UK Embassy in Mexico

USA - VERMONT. Analyze Policies and Technologies to Achieve Ambitious Vermont’s Greenhouse Gas (GHG) and Renewable Energy Goals for 2050.

The state of Vermont represents a sustainability leader by adopting one of the nation’s most ambitious goals: 75% reduction in GHG emissions by 2050 with 90% of renewable energy. The Department of Public Service is required to report to the Legislature on a “total energy” study of policies and funding mechanisms designed to achieve the state’s goals as a framing document to draft the next state Comprehensive Energy Planning process. In this context, the project aims at: 1) evaluating 15 combinations of policy sets and technology pathways, 2) defining the pacing for three combinations that rate the best on achievability, compatibility, and robustness criteria, 3) performing a detailed assessment of costs of each three scenarios against a baseline using the FACETS model, 4) mapping the cost results to the REMI software tool inputs for further economic impact analysis.

ModelFACETS (Framework for Analysis of Climate-Energy-Technology Systems) model with REMI (Regional Economic Models Inc.)

Resultshttp://facets-model.com/vermontportal/

Partner: With Dunsky Energy Expertise for Vermont Department of Public Service

CANADA. Trottier Energy Futures Project: Identifying alternative strategies and selecting an optimal strategy for reducing greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions by 80% in Canada by 2050.

Reducing GHGs by 80% is a significant challenge for Canada: it involves a transition toward major technological changes that goes beyond traditional energy efficiency improvements and low-carbon energy production. This project aims at identifying optimal strategies that would allow Canada achieving such an ambitious goal involving a significant contribution from all energy sectors as well as a large accessibility to existing and emerging technologies.

Model: NATEM-Canada in combination with the Canadian Energy System Simulator (CanESS)

Project site: Trottier Energy Futures Project  

CANADA – NEWFOUNDLAND and LABRADOR. Impact of new pipeline projects on the oil and gas industry in Newfoundland: An analysis of the interactions affecting the supply and demand sectors.

In the fast-evolving context characterizing the Canadian oil sector (unconventional oil discoveries, pipeline projects, shale oil production in North Dakota, new refinery projects or refinery closures, etc.), this project is intended to analyze the complex interactions between Canadian and global oil demand on one side and oil supply from Alberta and offshore Newfoundland both in terms of prices and volumes on the other side. We are using a hybrid approach mixing three complementary models in a soft-linking framework: 1) a forecasting model for reserves and oil production profiles working on a project basis, 2) the optimization LP model NATEM to study the relation between oil prices and quantities between the East and West Canadian coasts, the dynamic between crude oil and refined products on the East coast and to evaluate the cost for different pipeline capacity limits and 3) the macroeconomic model NALEM to connect macro-economic growth with the demand for offshore crude oil and to explain the impact of variations in oil prices on Newfoundland & Labrador GDP.

Modèle: NATEM – The North American TIMES Energy model (www.natem.ca) in combination with a forecasting model and NALEM – Newfoundland and Labrador Econometric Model

Partner:  IEC – Intelligent Energy Consulting – Yuri Alcocer et Olivier Bahn – HEC Montreal

FundingCentre for Applied Research in Economics (CARE) at the Memorial University of Newfoundland (MUN)

EUROPE. Building incremental ETSAP-DEMO models for advanced users of VEDA-TIMES.

Building from the first ETSAP-DEMO models for beginners and intermediate users, the objective of this project is to integrated additional steps for advanced features such as stochastic modeling and linking with macroeconomic modules. Starting with the energy balance of EU27 a complete model is built starting with a simple supply curve feeding a single demand and grows into a model that uses incrementally new parameters of TIMES. VEDA features are revealed accordingly when they are demanded by the situation. All models and associated steps are clearly documented.

ModelETSAP-DEMO models  for VEDA-TIMES

Partner: With E4SMA

FundingEnergy Technology Systems Analysis Program (ETSAP) of the International Energy Agency

IMG_3459
IMG_0504
IMG_2596
Examples of previous projects

Development of Integrated Energy Models

Our consultants have had the chance to participate to the development of world-class energy integrated models of the MARKAL/TIMES family with privileged partners.

FACETS –  Framework for Analysis of Climate-Energy-Technology Systems

Contribution to the extraction of the Vermont State from the aggregated New England region and to the calibration of a baseline reflecting the current state of the Vermont energy system. With KANLO/KanORS and Evelyn Wright

ETSAP- DEMO Models pour VEDA-TIMES

Contribution to the conception and calibration of incremental ETSAP-DEMO models used for VEDA-TIMES training activities for beginners, intermediate and advanced users. With E4SMA for ETSAP

Multiregional TIMES-Canada Model

Original conception and development, database maintenance and model calibration for technological assessment of Canadian energy and climate policies in 13 province/territories through 2050. With the E2G team at GERADResearch project funded by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and the Quebec Ministry of Economic Development, Innovation and Export Trade (MDEIE).

PET – Pan European TIMES Model

Analysis and selection of the main energy databases and contribution to calibration of end use sectors of 29 European countries during the NEEDS – New Energy Externalities Developments for Sustainability project. With KANLO/KanORS for the European Commission

EFDA – European Fusion Development Agreement Model 

Contribution to the adaptation of the 15 region World- TIMES model for nuclear fusion market share analysis through 2100.With KANLO/KanORS for the European Commission

SAGE – System for the Analysis of Global Energy Markets Model

Contribution to database development and to the 15 region model calibration through 2030 for the annual publication International Energy Outlook. With KANLO/KanORS for the Energy Information Administration (EIA) of US Department of Energy (DOE).

NE-MARKAL – New England MARKAL Model

Contribution to the model calibration for greenhouse gas mitigation scenario analysis through 2050. With KANLO/KanORS for the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

Multirégional MARKAL-Canada Model

Contribution to database development for Atlantic and Nordic provinces and calibration of the 13 region model for the analysis of options for greenhouse gas mitigation during the Canadian National Climate Change Implementation Process (NCCP). With KANLO/KanORS for the Government of Canada

Policy Analysis and Technology Assessment

Our consultants have a successful track record of energy related projects for clients across both private and public sectors within Canada as well as in the International arena.

Cost-Benefit Analysis of the Proposed Regulations to Require Renewable Fuels Content in Canadian Fuels. With EcoRessources Consultants for Environment Canada.

A Socio-Economic Analysis of the Canadian Residential Wood Heating Sector. With EcoRessources Consultants for Environment Canada.

Low Carbon Emissions Technology Deployment: Market Opportunities and Barriers. With EcoRessources Consultants and Point Carbon for National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy (NRTEE).

Analysis of the renewable electricity production opportunities in the agricultural sector. With EcoRessources Consultants for Union des producteurs agricoles (UPA) du Québec.

Analysis of the Logistical Costs Associated with Second Generation Biofuel Feedstocks. With EcoRessources Consultants for Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada.

Analysis of the impacts of a hydrocarbon royalty in Quebec on TransCanada’s assets in the province and follow-up on the provincial legislation. With EcoRessources Consultants for TransCanada.

Study on benchmarking the large scale infrastructure necessary for the blending, transportation, storage, distribution and integration of biodiesel into transportation fuels in Canada. With EcoRessources Consultants and Sine Nomine for Environment Canada.

The Environmental Impacts of Transportation Fuel Production and Distribution and their Economic Value. With EcoRessources Consultants for Transport Canada.

Completion of a Literature Review of Emission Reducing Technologies and Best Practices for Shippers, Carriers and Distribution Centers by transportation mode: A cost-benefice analysis. With EcoRessources Consultants and Levelton Consultants for Transport Canada.

Integrated Analysis of Options for GHG Emission Reduction with MARKAL-Canada for the National Climate Change Process (NCCP). Government of Canada.

Techno-economic study on industrial bioproducts produced from agricultural biomass. With EcoRessources Consultants for Ministère de l’Agriculture, des pêcheries et de l’Alimentation du Québec (MAPAQ).

Analysis of the energy efficiency potential in municipalities. With EcoRessources Consultants for Fédération québécoise des municipalités.

The evolution of the energy sector of Quebec in a context of sustainable development. With EcoRessources Consultants for Engineers Association.

Detailed analysis of energy consumption and techno-economic potential for energy economies in the transportation sector of Quebec. With EcoRessources Consultants for Energy Efficiency Agency of Quebec.

Analysis of the biofuel markets for the agricultural producers in the Province of Quebec. With EcoRessources Consultants for Fédération des producteurs de cultures commerciales du Québec (FPCCQ).

Internalization of the environmental costs of food transportation. Greenhouse gas and criteria air contaminant emission assessment of products imported in Quebec. With EcoRessources Consultants for Union des producteurs agricoles (UPA) du Québec.

Support to the development of the development of an energy efficiency program for small and medium enterprises (SMEs) in the Province of Quebec. With EcoRessources Consultants for Energy Efficiency Agency of Quebec.

Quantitative evaluation of the biofuel and biomass production potential in the farms of the Mauricie region. With EcoRessources Consultants for Fédération régionale de l’Union des producteurs agricoles (UPA) Mauricie.

Feasibility study on the sunflower production for the biodiesel industry in the region “Centre-du-Québec”. With EcoRessources Consultants for Syndicat des producteurs de cultures commerciales du Centre-du-Québec.

Project BASIC – Linking Climate Mitigation Policy and Modeling in China: Evaluation of Chinese energy models for GHG reduction scenario analysis. European Commission.

Coping with High and Volatile Oil Prices in the Power Sector in Central America and the Caribbean. With Intelligent Energy Consulting for World Bank Treasury.

178_7878
IMG_2989
122_2281

Exemples de projets en cours

Depuis 15 ans, les consultants ESMIA participent à des projets d’envergure visant le développement et l’application de modèles d’optimisation 3E pour l’analyse de politiques et l’évaluation technologique, pour de prestigieuses organisations canadiennes et internationales.

MEXIQUE. Renforcement des capacités pour le développement d'un modèle d'optimisation énergétique TIMES pour le Mexique : formation exhaustive et support technique.

Fundación IDEA est une importante organisation mexicaine de type « Think Tank », dont la mission est de concevoir et promouvoir des politiques publiques qui procurent une plus grande égalité des chances aux mexicains par le développement économique et social. Fundación IDEA est mandatée par l’ambassade du Royaume-Uni au Mexique pour mener une étude sur diverses politiques énergétiques et climatiques, avec le soutien du Ministère mexicain de l’énergie. Ce mandat comporte l’élaboration d’un modèle d’optimisation TIMES représentant le système énergétique mexicain de manière détaillée, ainsi que son application pour l’analyse de scénarios de référence et de politiques publiques. L’objectif de ce projet consiste à fournir une formation complète (modules de base, intermédiaires et avancés) à l’équipe de Fundación IDEA sur les outils VEDA-TIMES, ainsi que le soutien technique pour la collecte des données du modèle, le calibrage des scénarios de référence, la modélisation des contraintes politiques et l’analyse des impacts des politiques publiques.

Funding: UK Embassy in Mexico

USA - VERMONT. Analyse des politiques et technologies disponibles pour atteindre les objectifs ambitieux de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) et d’énergie renouvelable pour 2050.

L’État du Vermont devient un leader en matière de développement durable en adoptant des objectifs parmi les plus ambitieux de la nation: 75% de réduction des émissions de GES d’ici 2050 avec 90% d’énergie renouvelable. Le Ministère de la Fonction publique (Department of Public Service) est mandaté pour produire un rapport à l’Assemblée législative sur les mécanismes de financement et les politiques à mettre en place pour atteindre ces objectifs et préparer la prochaine Stratégie énergétique. Dans ce contexte, le projet vise à: 1) évaluer 15 combinaisons de politiques et filières technologiques, 2) définir la stratégie d’implantation pour les trois combinaisons les mieux évaluées sur des critères de faisabilité, compatibilité et robustesse, 3) produire une évaluation détaillée des coûts de chacune des trois combinaisons par rapport au scénario de référence à l’aide du modèle FACETS, 4) formater les résultats de coûts de manière à pouvoir les utiliser comme intrant dans le modèle économique régional REMI et effectuer une analyse plus approfondie des impacts et retombées économiques.

ModèleFACETS (Framework for Analysis of Climate-Energy-Technology Systems) model en combination avec le modèle économique régional REMI (Regional Economic Models Inc.)

Résultatshttp://facets-model.com/vermontportal/

Partenaire: Avec Dunsky Energy Expertise pour Vermont Department of Public Service

CANADA. Projet Trottier pour l’avenir énergétique: Identifier des stratégies alternatives et sélectionner une stratégie optimale pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) de 80% au Canada d’ici 2050.

Réduire les émissions de GES de 80% représente un défi énorme pour le Canada : l’atteinte d’un tel objectif nécessite d’amorcer une transition impliquant des avancées technologiques majeures qui vont au-delà des progrès traditionnels en matière d’efficacité énergétique et d’énergie propre. Ce projet vise à identifier des stratégies optimales qui permettraient aux Canada atteindre cet objectif ambitieux impliquant la contribution significative de tous les secteurs énergétiques et une large panoplie de technologies existantes et émergentes.

Modèle: NATEM-Canada en combination avec le Canadian Energy System Simulator (CanESS)

Site du projet: Projet Trottier pour l’avenir énergtique

CANADA – TERRE-NEUVE et LABRADOR. Impact des projets d’oléoducs sur l’industrie du pétrole et du gaz dans la province de Terre-Neuve & Labrador: Une analyse des interactions affectant l’offre et la demande.

Dans un contexte marqué par les changements rapides qui caractérisent le secteur pétrolier canadien (découvertes de pétrole non conventionnel, projets de pipelines, production de pétrole de schiste dans le Dakota du Nord, nouveaux projets de raffinerie ou raffineries qui ferment, etc.), ce projet vise à analyser les interactions complexes entre la demande de pétrole canadien et mondial sur la demande d’une part et l’offre de pétrole de l’Alberta et de Terre-Neuve d’autre part, tant en termes de prix et de quantités. Nous proposons une approche hybride combinant trois modèles complémentaires: 1) un modèle de prévision pour établir les réserves et les profils de production pétrolière à partir des projets, 2) le modèle d’optimisation de PL NATEM pour étudier la relation entre les prix/quantités de pétrole entre les côtes Est et Ouest, la dynamique entre le pétrole brut et les produits raffinés sur la côte Est et les coûts associés à des limites de capacité différentes pour les oléoducs et 3) le modèle macroéconomique NALEM pour établir le lien entre la croissance économique et la demande pour le pétrole brut offshore et étudier l’impact de la variation des prix du pétrole sur le PIB de Terre-Neuve & Labrador.

Modèle: NATEM – The North American TIMES Energy model (www.natem.ca) en combination avec un modèle de prévision et NALEM – Newfoundland and Labrador Econometric Model

Partenaire:  IEC – Intelligent Energy Consulting – Yuri Alcocer et Olivier Bahn – HEC Montréal

Financement: Centre for Applied Research in Economics (CARE) at the Memorial University of Newfoundland (MUN)

EUROPE. Développer des modèles de démonstration ETSAP-DEMO pour les utilisateurs avancés de VEDA-TIMES

À partir des premiers modèles ETSAP_DEMO pour les utilisateurs débutants et intermédiaires, l’objectif de ce projet est d’intégrer des étapes supplémentaires permettant d’illustrer des fonctionnalités avancées, telles que la modélisation stochastique et le couplage avec les modules macroéconomiques. En fonction du bilan énergétique de l’Union européenne, un modèle complet est construit à partir d’une simple courbe d’offre satisfaisant à une demande unique et l’utilisation progressive de nouveaux attributs à chaque étape. Les caractéristiques de VEDA sont illustrées parallèlement en conséquence. Les modèles et les étapes correspondantes sont documentés.

Modèle: Modèles Modèles ETSAP-DEMO  for VEDA-TIMES

Partenaire: Avec E4SMA

Financement: Energy Technology Systems Analysis Program (ETSAP) of the International Energy Agency

IMG_3459
IMG_0504
IMG_2596
Exemples de projets antérieurs

Développement de modèles énergétiques intégrés

Nos consultants ont eu la chance de pouvoir participer au développement de plusieurs modèles énergétiques intégrés de la famille MARKAL/TIMES avec des partenaires privilégiés.

FACETS –  Framework for Analysis of Climate-Energy-Technology Systems

Contribution à l’extraction de l’État du Vermont de la région agrégée de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et au calibrage d’un scenario de référence reflétant le système énergétique actuel du Vermont. Avec KANLO/KanORS et Evelyn Wright

Modèles ETSAP- DEMO pour VEDA-TIMES

Contribution à la conception et au calibrage des modèles incrémentiels ETSAP-DEMO utilisés lors des activités de formations de VEDA-TIMES pour utilisateurs débutants, intermédiaires et avancés. Avec E4SMA pour l’ETSAP

Modèle multirégional TIMES-Canada

Conception et développement initial, gestion des bases de données et calibrage du modèle pour l’évaluation technologique et l’analyse de politiques énergétiques et climatiques dans les 13 provinces/territoires du Canada à l’horizon 2050. Avec l’équipe E2G du GERADProjet de recherche financé par le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) et du Ministère du développement économique, de l’Innovation et de l’Exportation du Québec (MDEIE).

PET – Pan European TIMES Model

Analyse et sélection des bases de données énergétiques et contribution au calibrage des secteurs de consommation finale des 29 pays européens dans le cadre du projet NEEDS – New Energy Externalities Developments for SustainabilityAvec KANLO/KanORS pour la Commission européenne

Modèle EFDA – European Fusion Development Agreement 

Contribution à l’adaptation du modèle World-TIMES pour l’analyse de la filière de la fusion nucléaire à l’horizon 2100 dans 15 régions mondiales. Avec KANLO/KanORS pour la Commission européenne

Modèle SAGE – System for the Analysis of Global Energy Markets

Contribution au développement des bases de données et au calibrage du modèle multirégional à 15 régions jusqu’à l’horizon 2030 pour la publication annuelle International Energy Outlook. Avec KANLO/KanORS pour Energy Information Administration (EIA) of US Department of Energy (DOE).

Modèle NE-MARKAL – New England MARKAL

Contribution au calibrage du modèle pour l’analyse de scénarios de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre à l’horizon 2050. Avec KANLO/KanORS pour US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

Modèle multirégional MARKAL-Canada

Contribution au développement des bases de données pour les provinces atlantiques et nordiques et au calibrage du modèle multirégional à 13 régions pour l’analyse des options de réduction des émissions de GES dans le cadre du Processus national sur le changement climatique (PNCC) du Canada. Avec KANLO/KanORS pour le Gouvernement du Canada

Analyse de politiques et évaluation technologique

Nos consultants ont une feuille de route comprenant de nombreux projets couronnés de succès pour de nombreux clients des secteurs publics et privés au Canada et à l’international.

Analyse coût-bénéfices du projet de réglementation sur la teneur minimale de contenu renouvelable dans tous les carburants vendus au Canada. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour Environnement Canada

Une analyse socio-économique des systèmes de chauffage au bois dans le secteur résidentiel au Canada. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour Environnement Canada

Analyse des barrières de marché et des conditions au développement et au déploiement des technologies énergétique à faibles émissions de GES. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants et Point Carbon pour Table ronde nationale sur l’environnement et l’économie (TRNEE).

Analyse des opportunités de micro-production d’électricité renouvelable en milieu agricole. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour Union des producteurs agricoles (UPA) du Québec.

Analyse des coûts de la logistique associée à la production des matières premières pour les biocarburants de deuxième génération. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada.

Analyse des impacts liés à l’entrée en vigueur de la Stratégie énergétique du Québec et de la royauté sur les hydrocarbures pour les activités de la compagnie. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour TransCanada.

Étude d’impacts du développement à grande échelle de l’infrastructure nécessaire au transport, mélange, entreposage et intégration de biodiesel dans les carburants utilisés pour le transport au Canada. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants et Sine Nomine pour Environnement Canada.

Les impacts environnementaux de la production et la distribution des carburants et biocarburants au Canada et leur valeur économique. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour Transports Canada.

Réalisation d’une revue de littérature sur les meilleures technologies et pratiques environnementales disponibles pour les expéditeurs et les transporteurs de marchandises au Canada. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants et Levelton Consultants pour Transports Canada.

Analyse intégrée de nombreuses options de réduction des émissions de GES avec le modèle multirégional MARKAL-Canada dans le cadre du Processus national sur le changement climatique (PNCC) du Canada. Gouvernement du Canada.

Étude technico-économique de filières de bioproduits industriels à base de produits ou de biomasses agricoles. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour Ministère de l’Agriculture, des pêcheries et de l’Alimentation du Québec (MAPAQ).

Analyse du potentiel d’efficacité énergétique dans les municipalités. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour Fédération québécoise des municipalités.

Le développement énergétique au Québec dans un contexte de développement durable. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour Réseau des ingénieurs du Québec.

Analyse détaillée du portrait de la consommation énergétique et du potentiel technico-économique en efficacité énergétique dans le domaine des transports au Québec. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour Agence de l’efficacité énergétique du Québec.

Analyse des marches des biocarburants pour les producteurs agricoles dans la province de Québec. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour Fédération des producteurs de cultures commerciales du Québec (FPCCQ).

Quantification des émissions de GES et internalisation des coûts environnementaux liés au transport des aliments importés au Québec. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour Union des producteurs agricoles (UPA) du Québec.

Soutien au développement du Plan d’ensemble en efficacité énergétique pour la portion adressée aux petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) dans la province de Québec. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour Agence de l’efficacité énergétique du Québec.

Étude qualitative et quantitative du potentiel de production de biocarburant et de biomasse par les fermes de la Mauricie. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour Fédération régionale de l’Union des producteurs agricoles (UPA) Mauricie.

Étude de faisabilité et de rentabilité de la production du tournesol pour la fabrication de biodiesel dans le Centre-du-Québec. Avec ÉcoRessources Consultants pour Syndicat des producteurs de cultures commerciales du Centre-du-Québec.

Projet BASIC – Faire le lien entre les politiques climatiques et la modélisation : Évaluation des modèles énergétiques chinois pour l’analyse de scénarios mondiaux d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Commission européenne.

Impacts de la hausse et de la volatilité des prix du pétrole sur le secteur électrique en Amérique central et les Caraïbes. Avec Intelligent Energy Consulting pour Banque mondiale.

178_7878
IMG_2989
122_2281