Come back to visit us soon to meet the rest of our team.

Professionals
esmia_taille_noir2_coupe
Kathleen Vaillancourt

Kathleen Vaillancourt has been an energy modeling consultant and researcher for the past 15 years. She has specialized in the development of energy-economy-environment models and their applications for energy and climate policy analysis. She is involved in the Energy Technology Systems Analysis Program (ETSAP) of the International Energy Agency (IEA) where she provides in-person training and online technical support on how to develop energy models for strategic decision making.

Throughout her career, she has participated in the development of 7 national and global techno-economic energy models for high-profile organizations in Canada and internationally. She has a successful track record of over 20 energy related projects as a manager for multiple federal and provincial departments. In addition, she is always looking to develop new initiatives with partners and clients across both private and public sectors. She has participated in multiple forums, symposiums and press conferences as a keynote speaker on energy issues for various interest groups: engineers, lawyers, bankers, politicians. She has presented results in 30 world-class conferences on energy-related topics such as the International Energy Workshop (IEW) and the US Association for Energy Economics (USAEE). She has supervised 10 internships, masters and PhD students on energy-related topics. She holds a PhD in Environmental Sciences from the University of Quebec in Montreal, a postdoc from McGill University on the long-term role and potential of GHG emission abatement technologies and an MBA from HEC Montreal.

Photo_Erik_small
Erik Frenette

Erik is involved in the development of the multi-regional energy model NATEM, namely on the end-use demand sectors of the USA regions. Prior to joining the ESMIA team, Erik has been researching and modeling energy and environmental issues for the past 3 years with a focus on agricultural sectors. His past projects include: modeling Canada’s agriculture sector and, subsequently, assessing the climate change mitigation potential of alternative food consumption patterns; modeling Canada’s unconventional natural gas sources and assessing their viability in Canada’s future energy mix; and modeling Canadian liquefied natural gas trade and projecting the feasibility of Canadian LNG terminal projects. Additionally, he has presented his work at several academic conferences and for government agencies. Erik holds an Ms.c.in administration from HEC Montreal, specializing in applied economics.

Students
Hatim
Hatim Fassi-Fihri, M. Sc. Management - Option Strategy

Intership. Lasting three months, the research mandate relates to the analysis of long term economic and environmental impacts of a nuclear phase-out in Ontario using the optimization model TIMES-Canada V + representing in detail provincial energy systems. Impacts on greenhouse gas emissions and electricity trade with the Province of Québec are of interest particularly.

Supervisor : Pierre-Olivier Pineault, Professor at Department of Management Sciences and Holder of the Chair in Energy Sector Management, HEC Montreal

ESMIA Consultants works in close collaboration with world class experts from:

IMG_6513
IMG_0317
154_5455
Professionals

Job openings

Analyst – Energy Systems. We are looking for an analyst who will participate in energy-related mandates and model developments for various types of clients (building databases, modelling energy systems and calibrating models).

Main tasks and responsibilities:

    • Conduct research on energy related topics
    • Compile and manage databases
    • Write research reports
    • Analyse results on the economic and environmental impacts of policies
    • Prepare and give presentations on different topics
    • Prepare service offers and project proposals
    • Maintain contacts with partners and clients
    • Assist in project management

Minimum requirements

    • Postgraduate diploma
    • In a filed related to energy, economy, environment or natural resources
    • Knowledge of main energy challenges
    • 3 to 5 years of relevant professional experience
    • Good communication skills in two of the three languages (French, English, Spanish).

To apply :

    • Send us your CV with a short letter of motivation by e-mail at info@esmia.ca.
    • We accept applications until the position is filled.

Open applications

In addition, we welcome applications from outstanding candidates as super-modelers or policy analysts. If you are attracted to stimulating challenges and to achieving exciting goals send a CV and a cover letter at info@esmia.ca

Students

Internships

We offer undergraduate, masters and doctorates students the prospect of benefiting from our 3E optimization models and working on a wide range of energy related issues with the support of our modeling experts.

These internships are designed to provide students with the opportunity of producing deliverables that may lead to further research or scientific publications. Duration may vary from a few weeks to a few months; the internships are open year-round. If you are interested, please send your application file including note statements, letter of motivation and contact information of your professor supervisor at info@esmia.ca.

Competitions

Depending on the company needs, awards competitions will be announced for specific internship topics. Come back to see us.

IMG_2527
IMG_0977
164_6466

Revenez nous voir bientôt pour rencontrer le reste de notre équipe.

Professionnels
esmia_taille_noir2_coupe
Kathleen Vaillancourt

Kathleen est consultante et chercheuse en modélisation des systèmes énergétiques depuis 15 ans. Elle s’est spécialisée dans le développement de modèles permettant d’étudier les relations « énergie-économie-environnement » et l’analyse de politiques énergétiques et climatiques. Elle est impliquée dans les activités du programme ETSAP (Energy Technology Systems Analysis Programme) de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie (AIE) où elle donne régulièrement des formations et fournit du support technique sur la conception de modèles énergétique MARKAL/TIMES pour la prise de décision stratégique.

Durant sa carrière, elle a participé au développement de 7 modèles énergétiques nationaux et mondiaux pour le compte de prestigieuses organisations canadiennes et internationales. Sa feuille de route comprend la gestion de plus de 20 projets en analyse de politiques et évaluation technologique pour plusieurs ministères fédéraux et provinciaux. De plus, elle recherche constamment à développer de nouvelles initiatives avec des partenaires et clients des secteurs publics et privés. Elle a participé à de multiples forums, symposiums et conférences de presse à titre de conférencière invitée sur des enjeux énergétiques pour divers groupes d’intérêts: ingénieurs, avocats, banquiers, politiciens. Elle a présenté des résultats de projets à 30 conférences internationales sur des sujets liés à l’énergie dont International Energy Workshop (IEW) et la conférence de l’US Association for Energy Economics (USAEE). Elle a supervisé une dizaine de stagiaires et étudiants de maîtrise et doctorat sur des sujets relatifs à l’énergie. Elle est titulaire d’un doctorat en sciences de l’environnement de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, d’un post-doctorat sur le rôle et le potentiel des technologies dans les scénarios de réduction des gaz à effet de serre et d’un MBA de HEC Montréal.

Photo_Erik_small
Erik Frenette

Erik est impliqué dans le développement du modèle énergétique multirégional NATEM, dont principalement les secteurs de consommation finale des régions américaines.  Avant de joindre l’équipe ESMIA, Erik Frenette a été associé de recherche en modélisation des systèmes énergétiques et environnementaux pendant 3 ans, avec un intérêt particulier pour les secteurs de l’agriculture. Ses projets antérieurs incluent: la modélisation des secteurs de l’agriculture au Canada pour analyser le potentiel d’atténuation des changements climatiques associé à divers profils de consommation de produits agro-alimentaires; la modélisation des sources de gaz naturel non conventionnelles et l’évaluation de leur viabilité dans le mix énergétique du Canada; la modélisation des échanges de gaz naturel liquéfié entre le Canada et le reste du monde afin d’évaluer la faisabilité économique des projets de ports méthaniers au Canada. De plus, il a présenté ses travaux et résultats de recherche à plusieurs conférences académiques et pour divers organismes gouvernementaux. Erik est titulaire d’une M.sc. en administration de HEC Montréal avec une spécialisation en économie appliquée.

Étudiants
Hatim
Hatim Fassi-Fihri, M. Sc. en Gestion - Option Stratégie

Sujet du stage. D’une durée de trois mois, le mandat de recherche porte sur l’analyse des impacts économiques et environnementaux à long terme du retrait du nucléaire en Ontario à l’aide du modèle d’optimisation TIMES-Canada V+ représentant en détails les systèmes énergétiques provinciaux. Les impacts sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et les échanges d’électricité avec le Québec sont particulièrement d’intérêt.

Superviseur : Pierre-Olivier Pineault, Professeur au Service de l’enseignement des méthodes quantitatives de gestion et Titulaire de la Chaire de gestion du secteur de l’énergie, HEC Montréal

Les consultants ESMIA collabore régulièrement avec des experts renommés chez:

IMG_6513
IMG_0317
154_5455
Professionnels

Emplois disponibles

Analyste – Systèmes énergétiques. Nous sommes à la recherche d’un(e) analyste(e) qui participera à la réalisation de mandats touchant les différents thèmes du secteur de l’énergie pour des clients variés, ainsi qu’au développement des modèles (contribution aux bases de données, modélisation des systèmes énergétiques et au processus de calibrage).

Principales tâches et responsabilités :

    • Effectuer des recherches sur des sujets liés à l’énergie
    • Compiler et gérer des bases de données
    • Rédiger des rapports de recherche
    • Analyse des résultats sur l’impact économique et environnemental des politiques
    • Préparer et donner des présentations sur des résultats de recherche
    • Préparer des offres de service et des propositions de projets
    • Maintenir des contacts avec des partenaires et clients de l’entreprise
    • Assister dans la gestion de projets

Exigences minimales requises

    • Diplôme d’études universitaires supérieures (Maîtrise)
    • Domaine connexe à l’énergie, l’économie, l’environnement ou les ressources naturelles
    • Connaissance des diverses problématiques liées à l’énergie
    • 3 à 5 ans d’expérience professionnelle pertinente
    • Excellente maîtrise de deux langues parmi le français, l’anglais et l’espagnol

Pour postuler :

    • Nous faire parvenir votre CV accompagné d’une courte lettre de motivation par courriel à info@esmia.ca.
    • Nous acceptons les candidatures jusqu’à ce que le poste soit comblé.

Candidatures spontanées

De plus, nous accueillons les dossiers de candidatures spontanées de candidats exceptionnels comme super-modélisateurs ou analystes. Si vous êtes attirés par les défis stimulants, envoyez votre CV accompagné d’une lettre de présentation à info@esmia.ca   

Étudiants

Stages

Nous offrons la possibilité à des étudiants de premier cycle, maitrise et doctorat de bénéficier de nos modèles d’optimisation 3E et de travailler sur un large éventail de problématiques relatives à l’énergie avec l’aide de nos experts en modélisation. Ces stages sont l’occasion de fournir aux étudiants la possibilité de produire des livrables pouvant servir de base à des recherches plus approfondies ou mener à des publications scientifiques. D’une durée pouvant varier de quelques semaines à quelques mois, les stages sont ouverts toute l’année. Si vous êtes intéressés, envoyez votre dossier de candidature incluant relevés de note, lettre de motivation et coordonnées du professeur superviseur à info@esmia.ca.

Concours

En fonction des besoins de l’entreprise, des concours de bourses seront annoncés pour des sujets de stages  spécifiques. Revenez nous voir.

IMG_2527
IMG_0977
164_6466